Part 1 - My Stuttering First Attempts with an Arduino Pro Mini (1 Viewer)

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
I posted slightly mischievously the other day a photo of the Arduino Pro Mini I'd bought. This is a tiny (very tiny) device described as a microcontroller board. I've a bit of experience with various Raspberry Pi boards but this Arduino is a very different type of device. Arduinos are good for performing simple tasks like opening garage doors. The Raspberry Pi has a proper Linux based OS and can run several programs at the same time. The Arduino is designed to run just one program and do this automatically as soon as it is switched on.

The first challenge with the Arduino Pro Mini is it indeed very mini (18mm * 33mm) and I'm no professional solderer. So I've bought this thing:

3rd-hand.jpg

Sometimes described as a "Third hand" it has a magnifying glass (burning a hole in my soldering mat!) and a couple of adjustable arms with clips. It can be used like this:

magnifying.jpg

It was only £7 on Amazon and seems well made except the wing nuts are rubbish and can't be done up tight so I've sent away from some solid thumb wheels. In the photo below I used the second clip to hold the wires in place while I soldered them. It was much easier to do when nothing moves which is what happens if you try this on the bench with everything free to move about.

The other challenge with the Pro Mini version is it has no USB port so to get the program in you need a thing called an FTDI USB to Serial converter which you connect to the end of the Arduino like this:

FTDI.jpg