Mar 7, 2014
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Newbie/Ian Shelton

Does anyone know if parking is available in Cornwall car parks and is it easy in other parts of the country. We have just spent six weeks in New Zealand where is was no problem and worried we have been spoilt

Emmit

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 14, 2009
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Pilote Explorateur
Exp
Jan.2014
Greetings,

Having just had a holiday in NZ where I hired a motorhome, I feel comfortable in answering your query.

Yes you have been spoiled in New Zealand!!!

You will pay through the nose to park in Car Parks in Cornwall, HOWEVER;

I would draw your attention to the fact that Cornwall is heavily dependent upon tourism. To this end the local Authorities down here have plastered many roads with Double Yellow Lines which is a general indicator that you cannot park at any time.

WRONG, WRONG and DOUBLE WRONG!!!! (read on);

You will find on close observation that there will be a plate attached to a lamp post (or maybe a wall) adjacent to said DYL's. On that plate it will say when the DYL's start to take effect.
Invariably, particularly in Cornish Seaside resorts, you will find that said Lines have no legal basis during the winter and in some places through the Spring right up to 31st May.
Alright, in some of the more popular places, the prohibition of parking starts at Easter but I've found loads of places where I have parked on DYL's without penalty.

Have a wonderful time down here but keep your hands in your pockets. That way you won't spend more than you have to.
Regards

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967