Paper driving licence (1 Viewer)

Jan 27, 2018
Northampton
Funster No
MH
Rapido & Bongone
We have valid uk paper licences not plastic photo things.
For eu travel an eu licence was required (photo version) post Brexit we need a license valid in country of origin. Am i correct in thinking my paper licence is now acceptable? Has the need for additional international licences been clarified and what is the situation?

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
Most countries now need a international driving permit
Source

Having an IDP would make your type of UK licence academic IMO

Are all the details still correct on your paper licence?

SteveJ

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 30, 2018
March, Cambridgeshire
Funster No
MH
Lunar Roadstar 620
Exp
Since 2013
From 1 January, most UK drivers will still be able to use their normal driving licence to drive in EU countries.
There are some exceptions and what is called an International Driving Permit (IDP) may be needed.
An IDP can be bought at Post Offices for £5.50.
The exceptions are people who only have a paper licence, not a photocard one, as well as those with licences issued in Gibraltar, Guernsey, Jersey or the Isle of Man.
The government's advice if you are in one of these groups is to check with the embassy of the country you are planning to drive in to see if you will need an IDP, although it has also published some guidance for specific countries.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
From 1 January, most UK drivers will still be able to use their normal driving licence to drive in EU countries.
There are some exceptions and what is called an International Driving Permit (IDP) may be needed.
An IDP can be bought at Post Offices for £5.50.