Panels producing 14a but only showing charging as 8a (1 Viewer)

Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
On 3rd van so not a total newbie....
We now have 2x 160w zamp panels, and the original 130w that was on the van, so a total of 450, the zamp controller shows we are producing about 14a, which seems about right, about 200w, but the read out in the van shows the battery is charging at about 8a, so it looks like we are losing about 6a, am I missing something here? Why is the full 14a not going into the battery?

Feb 22, 2011
Newcastle under Lyme
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544 A Class
Exp
Since 2015
I'm no expert but I think if the batteries are charged the amps reduce and go to zero when fully charged ?
Mine seem to anyway

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
Are your batteries getting to fully charged, there will be nowhere for the amps to go if they are full.

Martin

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Wh05apk
Oct 30, 2016
Colchester
Funster No
MH
Le voyageur 8.5
Exp
Currently showing about 85%, dies it still use the onboard charger, could that be limited to 8/9a?

eddie

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 4, 2007
Taunton Somerset
Funster No
MH
RV
Exp
since 1989
We now have 2x 160w zamp panels, and the original 130w that was on the van, so a total of 450, the zamp controller shows we are producing about 14a, which seems about right, about 200w, but the read out in the van shows the battery is charging at about 8a, so it looks like we are losing about 6a, am I missing something here? Why is the full 14a not going into the battery?
What else is turned on? you can only ever really rely on a dedicated shunt based battery computer to get an accurate assessment of what is actually happening

In this instance my take would be 14 from the solar, using 6, battery getting 8!