Over cab drop down bed - advice needed (1 Viewer)

Nov 8, 2015
Rakitnika, Varna, Bulgaria
Funster No
MH
Damon Daybreak RV
Exp
Now in fifth year and with American RV
I am currently renovating my Mirage motorhome and recently had to operate this bed for access to install camera wiring etc, I was surprised by the weight of the thing and the effort required to raise it up after use. I have no previous experience of these drop down beds so would appreciate any comments and advice from others, I am no weakling but it is as much as I can do to get the bed lifted and secured by the seat belt type fastening. I have inspected the metal framework and all appears in good condition and working properly, there are two gas struts, one either end, they too look to be in good condition but I have no way of testing these, is this a possible weak point with these beds ? My problems with this project are made worse by lack of information on the Mirage, the Italian company ceased trading a few years back, the owners club appears to have disappeared and very little info on the web. From what I have learned so far it appears that this bed arrangement is common to most A class vans so all and any advices will be welcome.

Zepp

Free Member
Jun 22, 2008
Roaming
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
7 Years
Not much help but i can lift our overcab bed with one hand so it sounds like you have got a problem it maybe the struts but Im sure a expert will come along soon.

Paul

Oct 12, 2008
Balma (next to Toulouse) France
Funster No
MH
HymerCamp 51Capucine
Exp
Since 2011/owner since 6/03/2014
Hi!
Have you tried to find a Mirage owners' forum? Or may be a facebook page of such a group? If this is a weak point, it has certainly be discussed somewhere.
Good luck
Amicalement
Frankie

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012