Outer Hebrides beware. (1 Viewer)

Jan 31, 2013
Scotland
Funster No
MH
CI Cipro 85
Exp
im a newbie
Hi all, just returned from our hop scotch tour. Blown away in Barra, the uists and Harris and Lewis but sunny and very enjoyable.
However, we had a mishap on our second night on Barra, I noticed that no heating was in the M/H and steam appeared. Panic!!!! Water pump went nonstop, would not switch off. Used battery master switch to turn off. Out with the tool kit looking at the the combi heater unit the problem was found a burst hot water pipe. Why had this happen? This was quickly found, below the trauma combi unit there is a manifold with ducting directing hot air around the M/H, the one for the front of the M/H had come out of its socket, therefore directing the hot air straight on to the hot water tube. This caused a blister which had burst. Thinking cap on no heating force 5 gale blowing. Cut the the damaged tube out and piece of reinforce hose pipe and jubilee clipped into place. Power on it worked with cold water but was blistering with the 30psi pump. Backup 9x2ltr water bottles and kettle.
No M/H assistance available on Barra except very helpful site owners.
Off to South Uist late Friday on to site notice Builders merchant on the way.
Saturday morning first port of call builders merchant to see if ( fingers crossed) if they had any 12 mm pushin fittings. No luck, however in discussion with the owner I mensioned my temporary fit would not stand the pressure, we went to his HGV garage, as lorries use hypressure pushin fittings on there braking systems. He found 2 fittings which were 12mm, jumps for joy asked how much one would be. Nothing he said that size it not used on modern trucks. How helpful was that you find help in the strangest places, we felt very lucky. After the day out back to camp tube cut push fit connected, heat and hot water. I hope this is helpful to other members.