Opinions re Rapido 8096df 55th Aniversary edition (1 Viewer)

Dartagnan

Free Member
Mar 27, 2013
Bangor NI
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
We have never camped, had a caravan or a motorhome so are absolute newbies. I have read endless magazines and used this forum extensively to research what we wanted.
I wanted a pvc but my wife wasn't keen and as she looks after me tremendously well I carried on the search. I was keen on the rear lounge and front dinette layout.
However WE are now extremely interested in a Rapido A class the model which features in the thread title.
It appears to suit are needs extremely well apart from the length and substantial extra cost:D I am practically there on price with the dealer and as the model seems very well equipped the only options I was considering extra was a tv Ariel plus tv, an inverter for the hairdryer (essential!) and an alarm. I will also get it upgraded from 3500 to 3750 which is foc.
The model gets 5 stars in what motorhome and I have read the Rapido forums on here. I have some cognitive issues which effects my decision making and I was wondering if anyone has an opinion on our choice of vehicle and what I need to consider when purchasing the new vehicle.
Many thanks

jessthedog

Free Member
Aug 24, 2016
south east
Funster No
MH
A
Nice motorhome(y)
Personaly, I would get it weighed before hand, because even with the higher weight you stated, I find it unbelievable that an A class that big, would have any payload on a light chassis.

Upvote 0

John Stanton

Free Member
Jul 11, 2017
Chipping Campden
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678 (Heap of crap)
Exp
10 years
We looked at the 8096df as a possible replacement for the rubbish Hymer that blighted our lives for two years (disaffectionately known as "Adolf" as it had much of the same charm, was just as unpredictable, and just as noisy but that's a story for another time).