Only just been round the block (1 Viewer)

wotme

Free Member
Sep 26, 2018
new forest
Funster No
MH
Sold it!
Exp
I'm a newbie
You guys on here have already been a source of inspiration. I know I've left my introduction a bit late but like they say better late than never. Where shall I start, my academic achievements were pretty crap but so was my uncle Harry's and he became a self-made millionaire. I'm still working on that but I really should have followed in my dad's footsteps and joined the Navy. Every time I fell out with my first wife I was down the recruiting office but for some reason, I never did sign on the dotted line. I was a bit of a handful when I left school and half way through my plumbing apprenticeship I was suspended for six months. As it turned out those six months were the best days of my life as far as work experience was concerned. I was introduced to the ganger at Camber docks Old Portsmouth and put to work as a stevedore. As jobs go it was pretty tough, at seventeen I was working alongside some of the hardest men I've ever known but I loved every minute of it. If container ships hadn't put cargo vessels out of business in the mid-sixties I would probably have remained a stevedore for the rest of my working days. So with the sea being in my blood, I became a shipwright for the Royal Naval Dockyard at Portsmouth. The fact that I nearly sunk the aircraft carrier HMS Albion didn't go down too well with the admiralty so I went back to plumbing and heating for a while before ending up at Esso / Exon Mobile as a steam engineer for 28 years before retiring at 67. Although I didn't become a millionaire like my uncle Harry I can't think of anything I would change if I started over. I remarried in 1971 and boy have we had a fantastic relationship, we've been to most places on my bucket list, raised a couple of beautiful daughters, and now enjoying old age looking after the granddaughter. Apart from globe trotting we've had several enjoyable years carava