Gorse Hill

Free Member
Feb 2, 2013
Stretford
Funster No
MH
Burnster Ixeo IT 734
Exp
Van just over 12 months old so thought I would do an oil/filter change, turns out the left hand doesn't know what right hand is doing
Rung a number of fiat dealers half said 0/30 the other half said 5/30, rung supplying dealer who said 5/30 and even contacted Fiat customer services in Italy (Motorhome division) who confirmed 5/30 ACES C2
My problem is the Fiat manual that came with the van said 0/30 ACES C2 and was very specific about using the correct oil even mentioning that using any other oil as a fill up could invalidate the warranty
I think the problem is because I have a Euro 5+ engine, it seems the Euro 5 is 5/30 and Euro 6 is 0/30
What do you experts think I should do follow what the manual says or what Fiat in Italy have said
TIA

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
I would go to a Fiat dealer and buy the oil from them.
Confirm with the person behind the counter your reg number and it may be printed on the receipt along with the grade and part number.

I maybe wrong but I don't think there is a great deal of difference between 0 and 5/30

Stretto Boy

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 6, 2016
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
Since 2011
I don't see how Fiat can invalidate your warranty if you go with what is in the manual because, if the manual is wrong, it's their fault! If you want to go with what Fiat recommend then I would do so only if you get an email from them confirming that you may do so even though this contradicts the manual.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
It is a minefield now..
Similar thing.. on a mk 8 transit euro 5 engine..
Got some oil from ford to top up and was told that ford recommended the 5/30 full synthetic magnatec. .