Offline Satnav (1 Viewer)

Jul 26, 2017
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 125
Exp
Since 2016
I mostly use Google maps but I have occasionally been caught out when there is no coverage (yes I know you can download areas). Anyway yesterday I tested the IoS version of an app called Sygic. It cost about £12 for complete UK coverage. First impressions are quite favourable. Google will probably remain my first choice but it's good to have a fallback for planning routes offline.

What offline system (if any) do you use?

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
For offline Sat Nav use I’ve lifetime map updates on an old Garmin Nuvi
For cycling, hiking (& geocaching 😳) I’ve a Garmin Oregon 700 GPSr with a couple of GB for offline maps.

The GPSr has a ~£12 OS land ranger lookalike UK map from Broken Link Removed.
For world travel the GPSr gets a “free“ map of the destination from http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl/

Both are offline maps. Talky Toaster does frequent updates for a subscriber but I buy the one off release when worried about that.

I expect the OSM maps would be useful in the SatNav but I’ve yet to leave Europe in the MH so haven’t tested that 🤔

edit: blimey. Just checked talkytoaster.me.uk ‘s site as it’s been awhile since I got an update for my OS style UK map. They’ve really moved on since the last time I visited & now cover the world.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Busman

Free Member
Jul 25, 2013
Wirral
Funster No
MH
Esterel
Exp
A few years
Only been using maps.me for the last few years around Europe and Morocco. Can't fault it

The Lobster

Free Member
Aug 13, 2011
Borders of Scotland
Funster No
MH
Bürstner A576
Exp
Still getting started
Sygic Trucks... it let's you set the size and weight of your van and does useful things like giving you tight corner warnings. The optional live traffic add on doesn't cost much either.

Gellyneck

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 5, 2014
Scotland
Funster No