No horn

Discussion in 'UK Touring' started by widowtwanky, Apr 9, 2014.

  1. widowtwanky

    widowtwanky

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi guys

    I have a swift sundance 590rs. In Feb had the horn replaced and now the new one has stopped blowing too. I have read on line that swift are notorious for this fault with the electric being a culprit.

    Should I get this one replaced or try to sort the fault within the electrics, if that is the problem.

    cheers

    wendy
     
  2. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6,166
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +12,774
    I would be surprised if you have a second faulty horn, if even the first one was faulty.

    You can't really blame Swift as the horn is part of the base vehicle probably Fiat or Peugeot.

    The most likely cause is a wiring fault or horn button .... has the fuse been checked .... is everything else working as the fuse may cover various electrical items.
     
  3. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    15,844
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    Ratings:
    +36,557
    You are a brave lady Widow Twanky...

    Starting a thread entitled "No Horn" on this site is likely to generate some sad and desperate but witty replies!!!


    Obviously you have checked the fuse for the horn... :thumb:


    JJ :Cool:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,873
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +35,120
    You don't have much choice, it's a legal requirement.

    So easy if you have the skills, a voltmeter across the terminals and press.

    Trouble is the only way to get to the horn on our 03 FIAT is to take the nearside headlamp out. Quite easy actually. I then cured ours with a load of WD40 and wriggling the adjuster screw.
     
  5. Popeye

    Popeye Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8,350
    Location:
    New Forest
    Ratings:
    +27,153
    No horn

    Sadly, I've reached that age where mine works intermittently..... :Blush:
     
  6. Yorick

    Yorick Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,646
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +10,052
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Mel

    Mel Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,313
    Location:
    De Haan Belgium
    Ratings:
    +3,398
    Yes i very nearly put I have the same problem.
     
  8. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8,927
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +15,102
    i have been told viagra helps .... stops you rolling out of bed too:ROFLMAO:

    if a second horn has gone faulty consider changing it for a different type, like airhorns. first though you need to rule out a wiring fault or blown fuse
     
  9. widowtwanky

    widowtwanky

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +3
    There was no easy way to get all your attention, but to title it this way.

    Thanks for your replies, some were helpful. I will get someone to check my fuses and call the dealer to book 'him' in.

    wendy x
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. jhorsf

    jhorsf

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +8,079
    That post must have brought back happy memories to some of horns being blown:ROFLMAO:
     
  11. shawn&emma

    shawn&emma Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Anywhere that takes our fancy
    Ratings:
    +856
    I can honestly say that in the 4 years we'd have had our van the only time it gets used Is its mot. Is that a good thing, am I to calm a driver? How much does yours get used.
    Shawn
     

Share This Page