No gas coming out of hob and so many valves (1 Viewer)

TheBishes

Free Member
Jul 12, 2017
Jersey
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi,

I have a 1995 Enlagh 540 on Fiat Ducato chassis and for the first time tried to use the gas but to no avail.

There are 2 full gas bottles with a regulator (left or right cylinder). I opened the gas cylinder and heard a gas noise. I had the arrow pointing towards the gas bottle I was aiming to use.
Inside the kitchen are 4 inline valves so I turned the one for the hob to vertical (inline) then there is another valve which has a viewing window which was red but is now clear. I turned this valve vertically (inline) and then tried the hob but there is no gas coming out.
I was told that the camper had to be level for the gas to work and I was on a pretty flat surface at the time. Am I missing something very obvious here ?

TVM

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp
since 2005
You may have crash protected gas tails (tube from bottle to regulator) which have green buttons at the bottle end which have to be pressed for about 3 seconds after turning on the bottle.... there may also be a reset button on the regulator.

If these don't solve the problem, then you may have a gummed-up regulator which is quite a common problem.

PS :pink: to the group.

Upvote 0

DanielFord

Free Member
Jun 1, 2013
Funster No
Inside the kitchen are 4 inline valves so I turned the one for the hob to vertical (inline) then there is another valve which has a viewing window which was red but is now clear. I turned this valve vertically (inline) and then tried the hob but there is no gas coming out.
This sounds like you have an auto changeover valve, that's the only thing I can think of that has a red viewing window. Turn both gas bottles on, and open all the valves.

Upvote 0

Zigisla

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 24, 2015
Gosport, Hants
Funster No
MH
Sunlight A72
Exp
Getting better month by month.