Newbie questions: makes, dealers and motorbikes (1 Viewer)

Banjoblue

Free Member
Aug 27, 2017
Funster No
Hello all, a newbie here planning to move on from campervanning! I've downloaded the beginner guide and very useful it is too! Am planning to visit the Bath & West show in a couple of weeks and then the NEC show.

So, a few questions if you don't mind.

Makes: is there a hierarchy of quality builders? I know people can develop a brand loyalty but are some manufacturers associated with better build quality? Are Hymer to motorhomes what VW are to campervans? Are German or continental "better" than uk builders? Are there budget brands? Is there a top three? (or bottom three!)

We're based in Cardiff and though I wouldn't mind travelling to make an eventual purchase are there any recomended dealers with good stock levels in daily drive distance for me to go and tyre kick?

Motorbikes. We've had bikes for years on and off and are quite attracted to the idea of taking a bike with us to the continent or the Isle of Man). Is it practical to put a full size motorcycle in a MH garage (up to 200kg) or are they only suited for lightweight mopeds and such? I've seen the easy-lifter which might be a more flexible alternative but I can already see that that it's all going to massively impact on payload. How do other people manage with that?

Thanks

BB

vwalan

Funster
Sep 23, 2008
roche cornwall
Funster No
MH
lynton5th wheel
Exp
since a child
if you want quality and good prices go to the japanese camper folk near bristol.
you will find them on ebay jcsswcampervans (268
they have a range of smaller ones buy talk with them others can be got .
far better quality than eu converters .
as for the motor bike ,i have been using a easyrider dax 90cc for 16 yrs . it carries two. not serious motor biking but ideal for local running .