Newbie MH holiday advice, please? Dazed and confused :) (1 Viewer)

Batty Matty

Free Member
Jun 18, 2019
Funster No
MH
Dont own one yet
Exp
Im a newbie
Hello people

Thanks for having me in the forum.

My Thai wife and I are thinking about moving back to the UK next year - we live in Thailand and have done for years - we are thinking about buying a motorhome when we move back for holidays and what have you. But first off we would like to rent one for our holiday back to the UK in August, to travel over Europe for 10 days (France, Switzerland, and Italy) mostly for the adventure, but also to gauge if owning a motorhome might be for us or not.

I have been on Google and searched for motorhomes to rent but there are a ton of websites to choose from. I was thinking you experts might be able to point us towards the best company/website to use? There are just two of us, but we would like a 4-6 birth so it is nice and roomy and would like something with insurance and roadside assistance as part of the deal. It looks like some companies are fine with international rentals and others are not so again, if you guys have any advice on where to look that would be really helpful.

Camptoo seemed like a good option as it is privately owned rentals only? I guess that makes it priced a bit cheaper than renting from a company, but I dont know if private owners will like the idea of a newbie driving accross Europe and if they include insurance etc?

On that note I am ok with the driving - I used to drive a 7.5 wagon for UPS back in my 20's so I can handle a motorhome across Europe no problem. Touch wood.

One option might be to actually buy a motorhome right now and if we decide this is not for us, we could always sell it. But I prefer the idea of renting one to begin with as we are not 100% decided if we will move back or not, and I don't want to spend any time on our once a year holiday back to the UK with the hassle of selling a motorhome.