Newbie full of trepidation. (1 Viewer)

Sep 19, 2018
Snowdonia
Funster No
MH
Swift Mondial
Exp
I'm a newbie.
Hi. I posted an enquiry regarding old manuals last month and have since downloaded the info I required.
My first venture, or should I say adventure, as it was full of things that went wrong, three days of terror on my own with the two dogs!! Most due to my lack of knowledge and ending up in a field on my own with nobody near to ask!! I realise now that I should have tried the camper out on the drive before going but ce la vie!!!
Not going to let it put me off -- going away again in a few weeks but more prepared. -- only going an hour away, take less stuff and make sure I am near civilisation!! At least until I am confident in what I am doing!!
It was'nt all traumatic -- I was invited to a party on the site and I was never left on my own, it was the first time I had been out at night on my own in 27 years so it was a big deal for me and the biggest thing I will take from those three days is, not the set backs, but the reality of what lovely people you meet along the way!!
Roll on the next trip.

Feb 9, 2008
SW Scotland
Funster No
MH
LP Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2008 after caravanning for 20 years
Well done! Sometimes you find yourself stronger than you thought. Get out and enjoy life. Welcome to the fun.

Feb 26, 2013
derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Autocruise stargazer
Exp
since 2013
Well done on taking such a big step and I'm so glad it hasn't put you off. I suspect many of us groan when we think about our first trips away. There just seems to be sooo much to remember. But it does gradually become easier and most mistakes can be remedied.

Jan 10, 2013
Near Uttoxeter and Crete
Funster No
MH
Warwick XL PVC
Exp
Still trucking and learning
animated welcome group purple.gif