OP
jongood
Jun 10, 2010
Shrewsbury (sometimes)
Funster No
MH
N&B Clou Liner MAN
Exp
Yes this is a really small selection. You were right Richard, 6 weeks in new Zealand is nowhere near enough. We re definitely going for longer next time but going to have to save up:D

Jon

May 19, 2015
Surrey
Funster No
MH
Burstner
Exp
6 years
What is the cost of renting a motorhome in New Zealand?

Silver-Fox

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 5, 2014
Cheltenham Spa
Funster No
MH
Rapido
Exp
im a not so newbie
What is the cost of renting a motorhome in New Zealand?

We had one based on the VW chassis with a bed over the cab.

Not the newest but very reasonable at around £3k.
This included the best insurance covering everything, we collected in the North and dropped off in the South.

Its not as expensive as some people say, bargains are to be had :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 28, 2017
New Zealand
Funster No
MH
Hymer S520
Exp
Yes we have one of these spots next to our property here on the coast in the South Island. Campervan vans are outnumbered by cars and station wagons with two or more tourists sleeping and cooking in and around them. Weather closing in here so numbers are dwindling. More amenities need to be provided for "freedom campers" as a lot of the spots have no toilets or water and MOST vehicles are not self contained. Best to get that sticker on your back window and sleep comfortably. $200 fine for not having one!!!

OP
OP
jongood
Jun 10, 2010
Shrewsbury (sometimes)
Funster No
MH
N&B Clou Liner MAN
Exp
Its a fabulous place and we had a wonderful time but cheap it aint

There is a huge choice of companies and vehicles but camper rental in NZ is expensive, we wanted one with two beds and a proper toilet and shower. The regular renters wanted circa £5000/month for a NZ one or £7000 for a burstner.

We used share a camper in the end

https://www.shareacamper.co.nz/?gcl...BKCuU-RAJbqh6oBv6PcxCGjq7SygITNSu-RoCr9fw_wcB