Free Member
Jan 27, 2012
Pembrokeshire
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi been camping for many years but got to the age where comfort was more important than mobility. Bought my van conversion september 2011, used it once then found out it was a "fur coat with no knickers", looked good but the gas installation was totally illegal and was condemed by a gas safe engineer.
Van has been the subject of a trading standards investigation and recently the HSE have got involved.....so much for buying a professional conversion, my hamster would have made a better job:roflmto:
Van is now being fixed, so looking forward to getting out there planning to take a cruise around the highlands and Skye

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
:thumb:welcome and i hope the van gets sorted:thumb:

can we say your van was a "COMMANDO":Eeek::Doh::Doh:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Hollyberry

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2011
New Forest.
Funster No
MH
None.
Exp
4yrs
Hi and Welcome from France.

Sorry to hear you've had a less than good start. I had a similar experience buying a vehicle in France. But it's worth soldiering on.

Good luck with the Trading Standards etc.. I was really lucky to get my money back (esp as my French is abysmal and I donlt really know my rights here)

OP
OP
W

Wozza1981

Free Member
Jan 27, 2012
Pembrokeshire
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thank you all for the warm welcome

I have been persevering and can now see light at the end of the tunnel::bigsmile:
I believe trading standards are taking the company to court, after which, i'll set a team of ambulance chasing claim lawyers onto him, its the least i can do, after all the van was so dangerous, we could have been toasted:Eeek:

Now looking forward to hitting the road, fancy trying a bit of wild camping in the highlands, but first, a couple of local trips to try it all out:thumb:

See you all out there!!!:Cool:

Peter JohnsCross MH

Funster