Dec 5, 2016
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Don't own yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi there

Our family includes myself, my husband, our 10 yo son and 2 medium sized dogs and we
are at the start of planning a 9 - 10 month adventure starting next summer.

We are new to Motorhoming but have talked about owning one for a long time. We are experienced campers. On our first visit to view we found that the ones we like and in which we will best fit in terms of living space are huge and seem more than a little daunting to drive (although it is exciting too)!

We are looking for a 6-7 berth coach built with fixed bed at the rear for us and the overcab bed for our son. We are also looking at getting a LHD as we will be buying specifically to use in Europe. We are both old enough to drive something of this size on our licences.

My husband has experience of driving large panel vans and currently drives a standard transit as his main vehicle. I have briefly driven a lwb transit (for a tip run) and standard transit (with windows) but that's it.

My questions for now (although I am sure more will follow) are:-

How did you first feel about driving a motorhome and did you find it easier/harder than you thought?
If you are part of a couple, how much do you share the driving?
Can you get sat nav's for large vehicles which would avoid tiny, narrow roads?
I can't find any website route planners which seem to offer this - do they exist?

Any thoughts and advice would be welcome :)

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Driving is just a matter of practice.

Rely on a satnav for narrow roads and it will get you stuck sooner or later. Rely on your eyes and at the first hint of "I'm not happy" turn around before "I'm stuck".

Remember even a theoretically perfect satnav does not know about a parked truck, an overhanging tree. Use your brain.

Upvote 0

jollyrodger

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 1, 2012
Devon/Cornwall
Funster No
MH
'Obby
Exp
Since 1968'ish