New Motorhomer (old caravanner) (1 Viewer)

Apr 5, 2019
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Swift Escape 674
Exp
I’m a newbie
Hi! I’m Rob, new to motorhoming (just bought Swift Escape 674). Caravanned for a couple of years, so was still bit of a newbie to that. Off to first rally this weekend (in motorhome instead of caravan) with South Yorkshire Centre of Caravan & Motorhome club.

Van has couple of minor faults, told dealer I’ll take back next week after checking for more teething issues over weekend when ‘used in anger’

Should I fill water tank from garden house before setting off?

Jim

Ringleader
Jul 19, 2007
Sutton on Sea, UK
Funster No
MH
Adria Panel Van.
Exp
Since 1988
Hi Rob, It depends on your payload, but if you have plenty to spare then arriving at a rally with full water tanks is my preferred option. A garden hose is fine, as long as it's not a new one, some hoses can impart a rubber smell/taste when new that will make your tea taste awful. Lots of people carry a watering can so they can easily keep a water tank topped up without moving the van. Have a great rally (y)

Last edited:

Anthea M

Free Member
Deceased RIP
Oct 18, 2015
Sheffield
Funster No
MH
Hobby
Exp
Since 2009
Hello and welcome.hellowelcome
We only take half a tank and top up with a watering can ( bought and used specifically for that!)
Water is heavy so can affect payload.
Enjoy your first shakedown and the kettle and chairs will be out before a carravanner will have even parked up!!
Enjoy!!

Mar 9, 2015
Heywood, Gtr. Manchester.
Funster No
MH
AS Broadway FB
Exp
Since 2008
:welco:
I can't fill up at home but rarely have a problem filling when I get to my destination, even rallies in fields. However as Jim says it's always handy to carry a container or watering can to top up, or someone will lend you one.

M-J

Free Member
Jan 15, 2019
Secret Underground Chimp Bunker
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr E562
Exp
Enough