New Laws In France From Today (1 Viewer)

Weinsbergaman

Free Member
Feb 8, 2015
Wirral, North West England
Funster No
MH
B Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
The new laws come into effect today so beware.

No eating or drinking whilst driving
No driving in flip flop type sandals
Dogs MUST be tethered or caged in ALL types of vehicles.Fines for the dogs are €90 per dog.

Glad I'm not going to France this year as I would break all of those laws nearly everyday :mad:

Isn't the point of the EU that we ALL have similar laws to abide by or that just too simplistic? There wouldn't be much of a problem here with our non existent Police anyhow :rolleyes:

Cheers Antony

Hollyberry

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2011
New Forest.
Funster No
MH
None.
Exp
4yrs

Dogs MUST be tethered or caged in ALL types of vehicles.Fines for the dogs are €90 per dog.

My dogs don't have their own money! How would they pay a fine???
But seriously, it's sensible, for the dogs protection as well as humans.

OP
OP
W

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
Ah well another country off the tour list for many, the world is becoming such a small place. Not eat whilst driving whatever next. no more cheese and wine and I suppose a pint of beer is out of the question as well.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Abacist

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 15, 2013
Devon
Funster No
MH
N & B Tag Axle
Exp
since 2013
These activities may not be specifically illegal in the UK but you do risk breaking the law by driving without due care and attention. There are plenty of examples if you google the issue. Police are keen to issue Penalties in these circumstances and will use camera evidence.

My pet hate is those drivers who turn to talk to you whilst driving and even worse to talk to rear seat passengers which a recovery driver did to my wife and I after a major accident on a 250 mile drive home almost constantly. You can't legislate against this sort of stupidity.