New laptop - where's the pound sign?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by keith, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,411
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Ratings:
    +1,891
    Got a new laptop while on our recent visit to Singapore, bur I cannot find the pound sign.

    It has a Dollar & Euro sign - does someone know something we don't, is Gordon going to scrap the pound, do we all have to become Euro bound. :whatthe:

    Got any ideas funsters? :RollEyes:
     
  2. andyman

    andyman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,331
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +882
    Have you tried AltGr and then the £ or € sign. I will ask my IT guy when he finally gets in.

    Andy
     
  3. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,411
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Ratings:
    +1,891
    Andy thanks, but there isn't a pound sign on the keyboard. :Doh:
     
  4. andyman

    andyman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,331
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +882
  5. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,473
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Ratings:
    +8,344
    Hi you could type 156 after holding down the ALT key. You must be on the numeric keypad I believe

    Olley
     
  6. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,411
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Ratings:
    +1,891
    That d5d 5t 633ey - blast forgot to take off num lock :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

    That did it olley, thanks :thumb:
     
  7. lebesset

    lebesset

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Ratings:
    +1
    if this hasn't got a uk keyboard , what keyboard does it have ?
    and are you set to uk english ?
     
  8. AdgeRas

    AdgeRas

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +10
    That is the problem with buying PC keyoards and laptops in another country. They are cheaper, but you do not get an 'english' keyboard layout, hence no £ sign.

    I purchased Vista in Denmark. It was much much cheaper, but it took me ages to install and even though in installation you can choose to change the language to English. Then find the right patch form Microsoft to get rid of the 'Danish' totally (it installs as Englaih but not 100%) which I never did acheive properly.

    Adge
     
  9. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,411
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Ratings:
    +1,891
    I would guess it's an American keyboard, the computer is a Gateway notebook. The only currency symbol is the $, the Euro is hidden under the 5 key but they haven't explained where the £ symbol is, :Doh:

    As you can see I now have it sorted. I beleive the setting of the UK or US English only affects the spell checker.
     
  10. GregM

    GregM

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    On my UK keyboard I have no € sign but if I hold down the 'alt gr' key and 4 ($ sign) I get the € sign. Might be worth trying that to see if the £ is hidden there.
     
  11. barbt

    barbt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    KENT
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you Google "Typing Special Characters" you will find what you need to know there.
     
  12. lebesset

    lebesset

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Ratings:
    +1
    if you change the language it will change to the appropriate keyboard
    I alternate between uk english and french on my laptop ....that acts as though there is an azerty keyboard , which isn't there of course ; if you install uk english the £ sign is above 3

    incidentqlly ; tis is zhqt hqppens if I chnqge to french

    if it is a decent machine you can usually change the keyboard , often appear on ebay

    and I haven't noticed the spell check changing
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2009
  13. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,411
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Ratings:
    +1,891
    There are some differences between UK & USA spelling so choose the right one, we don't want to upset anyone with bad spelling do we. :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    33,495
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Ratings:
    +28,931
    well knock me down with a ragdoll......

    i never knew that.
    i always enter Euro instead of €

    now i know.....€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€€

    cheers :thumb:
     
  15. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    31,254
    Location:
    Suffolk Coastal
    Ratings:
    +33,551
    For those who use Safari there is a host of characters that can be accessed from the drop down menu .. Edit , Special Characters ..

    Currency .. for example

    $ ¢ ₥ ₠ € ₣ ₧ ₱ ¥


    there are dozens if not hundreds more, mathematical, musical, etc

    ℃ © ® ÷

    not sure if they are on the Windoze Safari , maybe someone can confirm.
     
  16. Goose

    Goose

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in Europe
    Ratings:
    +4
    Me too, papajohn!

    Have been messing about with my laptop for an hour now as a result of this thread and have only just now been able to finally type: ££££££ and €€€€€€

    None of the ALT0163 or any other combination worked.

    Had to go into my computer SETTINGS menu, choose KEYBOARD and change the setting from English US to English Brit.
    Have had the laptop for 10 years and it's the first time I've been able to type the £...

    ...just when it's going down the tubes :cry:
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2009
  17. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,411
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Ratings:
    +1,891
  18. lebesset

    lebesset

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Ratings:
    +1
    don't forget you can install as many as you like at the same time , the when you left click on the keyboard language icon on the bottom taskbar your list comes up , click on the one you want ...et voila
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice