Netflix via Chromecast when there is no wifi or mobile signal (1 Viewer)

Dec 11, 2011
Nr Hastings, East Sussex
Funster No
MH
AutoTrail Tracker RL
Exp
since 2010
Hi,
I'm fairly new to this so please be gentle!
I have recently acquired a Chromecast device which I have linked with the Huawei mifi hub in my motorhome (the mifi has a Three PAYG SIM in it). I use films downloaded several days earlier via the Netflix app on my Samsung tablet (also linked to the mifi) as the source from which to cast to the TV.
Now the first time I used this combination everything worked really well - but the 2nd time I couldn't get Netflix to cast to the TV. The difference the 2nd time is that there was no mobile data left on the SIM.

The conclusion of my investigation is that the Netflix App MUST communicate via the web in order to verify the Netflix account/password. Can anyone confirm this for me?
If this is correct then this approach will not work when there is no site wifi or mobile signal and I need to come up with a different approach.

Mar 30, 2019
Cardiff, UK
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2016
Did the film play on your tablet just not cast or were you unable to play at all?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Bill_OR
Dec 11, 2011
Nr Hastings, East Sussex
Funster No
MH
AutoTrail Tracker RL
Exp
since 2010
Itsmcb - good point. The film was playing on the tablet but wouldn't cast to the TV. Hence the problem couldn't have been a Netflix one after all - so now I'm stumped again!

R

Robert Clark

Deleted User
When you download a Netflix program it has a limited expiry date

R

Robert Clark

Deleted User
Can you connect your device to the internet via your phone to see if this helps ?

Mar 30, 2019
Cardiff, UK
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 2016
If you can play the film on your tablet then it's a casting issue rather than a download issue. Sorry I don't know what a Chromecast requires, maybe a Google search is the way forward 👍

OP
OP
Bill_OR
Dec 11, 2011