Nasty ! (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Cut a couple of Pear trees down some weeks back and was bored this morning so decided to log some of it for the stove, As I was clearing up with bare hands as usual I noticed something moving in the trash bag. I had picked this nasty sod up in my bare hands and deposited it in the trash bag. Lucky the bugger never stung as it was well alive and angry !

See the Stanley knife blade for size reference ! :):)

Might start wearing gloves :rolleyes::rolleyes:

DanielFord

Free Member
Jun 1, 2013
Funster No
That looks horribly like an Asian Hornet!

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Reactions: f6c

Welsh girl

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 7, 2009
Funster No
MH
Globecar
Exp
Since 2004
That was lucky. I thought they'd all gone'somewhere ' for the winter

magicsurfbus

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
NW England
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1997
Don't let UKIP know

I've got bad news for UKIP then - it looks like a European Hornet (Vespa Crabro). I'm guessing @Charlie it was a big bugger with a red brown back?

Broken Link Removed

The one in the picture dropped out of the rafters at my rural workplace last spring and nearly landed on my head. It was waking up from hibernation but didn't survive the night. I took some piccies and looked it up online - turns out it was one of the first sightings in our area and one of the closest to Wales.

Somebody hasn't told them about Article 50.

Last edited:
Sep 12, 2016
Chesterfield England Tellus 3
Funster No
MH
Lunar Roadstar 800
Exp
6 years
Looks like a Queen Wasp to me (V.maculiferons ) and she was probably snoozing is some nice leaf litter getting nice and snuggly until you moved her you ARE lucky these sting first and buzz off much later a Hornet is about twice the size

OP
OP
Charlie

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie