My DIY damp repair project (1 Viewer)

Oct 8, 2016
Herts
Funster No
MH
Auto Trail Cheyenne 696SE
Exp
Hi,

This thread is intended to be a documented progress report on tackling some damp repairs in my motorhome. I hope it helps others and would like to invite anyone to chip in with help, suggestions, technical info and support.....because I am completely new to this.

Firstly, some background info:
Motorhome: 2004 Fiat Ducato (2.8ltr) Autotrail Cheyenne 696gSE
Previous owners: at least 4
Mileage: 54,000
Damp issues: Garage area (around locker doors) and hab door (around bottom hinge)

I'll add photos and info as I'm going along.

Photo 23-09-2017, 11 30 02.jpg

OP
OP
The_Kraken
Oct 8, 2016
Herts
Funster No
MH
Exp
Issue no. 1

We discovered that the hab door was stiff and the hinges needed lubrication. This led me to discover that the door frame was twisting when I opened and shut the door. I found a screw and attempted to tighten it but, it just spun. I managed to extract it and assumed that the wood that it used to be screwed into was no longer there!

I peeled back the rubber seal and sure enough, the clips that hold the door frame in place were not clamped on to anything. Seemingly, the soft bit was fairly local as 6 inches away the wood was solid. I will know more once I get a chance to strip it back more and investigate.

I took some photos at lunchtime and what wasn't visible to the naked eye is showing up in the photos. There's a definite damp patch at the bottom of the wall board near the broken screw area.

So, I will need to remove the furniture nearby and replace the damaged parts.

You can see the screw hole here - screw has been removed.
Photo 02-01-2019, 11 54 49.jpg

Rubber seal pulled back, you can see the damp patch and the soft wallboard - a part of it has also broken down at the bottom. The three clamps here aren't attached to anything so the frame is twisting freely
Photo 02-01-2019, 11 55 44.jpg

Solid a bit further up though!