Motorhome stopover Lake Garda (1 Viewer)

IanStreten

Free Member
Feb 18, 2017
Kent England
Funster No
MH
Fiat Ducato Swift Consort
Exp
I'm a Newbie
Good Day. New to Motorhoming & the Forum. Would like to get advice on the best possible stopover location for maybe one or two nights on Lake Garda on our travels from U.K. to Ancona for ferry crossing to Greece mid March 2017. Internet searches seems to highlight long stay options rather than stopovers. Any observations or imput would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Feb 18, 2017
Greenwich, London, UK
Funster No
MH
Hymer MLT 570
Exp
Hi, I thought I'd start my first ever post on this site by replying to you. :)

My sister, who had a T3 VW Camper van, and later a Transit Eddis has 3 kids, lives in the UK but had an ex husband in Greece.
She used to drive that route twice a year, every year for about 12 years whilst the kids were growing up (The youngest would have been about 3 or 4 the first time she did it!)

After a while she perfected the route for the lowest mileage, cheapest costs on Ferries, tolls, fuel, camp fees, easiest border crossings, best route through the Alps with a big van, with timing to make the Ancona ferry (which I seem to remember was overnight)

Her route was:
  • Dover
  • Calais
  • Turn left for Belgium
  • On towards Bonn/Cologne on the Rhine where she would spend the first night in a campsite by the river
  • Head south on the German autobahns (no tolls!) toward Munich
  • She would then spend the second night at a campsite right on the German/Austrian border at Keefersfelden/Kufstein which was by a lake that was open for swimming
  • (Kufstein is a real chocolate box pretty town)
  • Then drive down via Innsbruck, the route takes you via the Brenner Pass which is relatively low, has no tunnel so no tolls
  • Down to Trento, Lake Garda and then onto the night ferry at Ancona
  • Arrive in Patras the following morning