Motorhome insulation (1 Viewer)

Oct 19, 2020
Funster No
MH
don't own one yet
Exp
i'm a newbie
Just wondering how well modern 40k-50k motorhomes are insulated?
When I was considering a panel van conversion, the insulation was probably the single most important issue. I assumed that was because of the steel skin. Most were insulated with 50mm Celotex. Are motorhomes fitted with similar?
The motorhome body is GRP, is this correct? Is that better than steel from an insulation point of view?
Also, are the windows generally double glazed?
Finally, where do the full timers go in winter? abroad?
I'm so sorry for all the questions and if it's all been said before but i'm brand new here and this forum is HUGE!!!, gonna take months to read everything!

cmcardle75

LIFE MEMBER
Jun 8, 2012
Reading
Funster No
MH
Riot Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2012
The issue with PVCs isn't thickness of insulation. In fact, this is usually quite good (i.e. 50mm). However, compared to coachbuilt models, there is way more cold bridging, because they use steel spars, rather than having sandwich construction with few interloping structural elements.

Jun 10, 2010
Shrewsbury (sometimes)
Funster No
MH
N&B Clou Liner MAN
Exp
At 40-50k I wouldn't be buying a new one. If You want proper insulation, fully winterised, double floor, inboard tanks double glazed egc, you're going to need to look at 5-10 year old usually German.

Winter destinations tend to be skiing or Spain or Morroco.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012