Free Member
Apr 9, 2011
lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
LP . C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Have just bought our first MH an Ace Airstream and want to carry a motor scooter on our towbar. Does anyone have experience of this? What do I need to consider? All advice welcomed.

chrisgreen

Funster
Jul 26, 2009
england
Funster No
MH
c class
Exp
since 2004
wellcome to the forum.

i dont know if the pic below is the same as your have bought,but going on my experience with carrying scooters on scooter racks your tow bar will always be over loaded?
a desent scooter rack will weigh about 30 kg and a scooter about 90kg thats 120 kg loading straight down on two bolts of your toeball,now going on the nose weight of a caravan should not exceed 75lb, from the start you are already overloading the toebar by 175lb now given that a tow bar is designed to pull, the loading on it should be horizontal not vertical.the bolts on the toeball can take 4 tons per square inch so not a problem:thumb:
now the scooter
a 50cc scooter is by far under powered about 6bhp and if you want to carry a pillion forget it,better to go for a 125cc as this has 12bhp and will carry a pilion easerly:thumb:
carrying a scooter on a rack is a bit of a gray area as far as the law is concerned,but saying all this i carry a 125 endro bike weighing 150kg all in on a scooter rack on the back of my motorhome without any problem,but in the event of an accident i think i am breaking the law.:Eeek:
then you have the problem of overhang and payload and newtons law:thumb:

Last edited:

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
Do your research very carefully..!!!
Check what your rear axle is rated at, then go to a weighbridge when you are loaded up for a trip and get the whole van and the rear axle weights.. See what spare capacity you have on the back axle, you may be surprised and it's not very much...