lfoulger

Free Member
Sep 26, 2020
Funster No
MH
Elddis 275
Exp
I'm a Newbie
Im going to pick up a new moho in a couple of weeks time and I'm interested in the moisture reading of the van from new and what it means for the life of the moho. What should i be looking for, what is the acceptable level of moisture values?

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
From Mr Google.

Readings between 0-15% no cause for concern

Readings between 15-20% engineer to make note of readings and recheck at next service.

Readings between 20-24% possible early sign of water ingress, look for tangible evidence or ask for

Recheck.

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
the other thing worth noting is consistency of readings throughout the van. a sudden change in reading could indicate the start of a problem,

E.G. say most of the van reads 8 / 9% then there is an area that reads 15% then that could indicate a possible problem area even though its in the lower scale.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp
since 2005
Or like my Autotrail, once you hit 90% it's time to bale out. :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: literally... šŸ˜”
Is your damp meter like this?....
1601147526614.png

Jan 18, 2016
North Wales
Funster No
MH
Adria Coral 670SLS
Exp
A long time
Buy a non intrusive tester (no pin marks).
They cost ~Ā£60.
Run it over the inside of your van, lockers especially and get to know the readings.
Make a chart (if you want) look out for changes in measurements.
Do this once per month, say on 1st of each month.
If anything starts to go up get it back to the dealer for checking/rectification.
Once you get to know how your van reacts to changes of weather, how you use it etc then either increase or decrease the testing frequency.