Mifi in France - does anybody know what they are talking about??

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by ojibway, Aug 22, 2014.

  1. ojibway

    ojibway

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Ratings:
    +321
    Yesterday I bought a PAYG for broadband at a 3 shop.:)
    I was given a phone number to call to find out if the sim works in France.:cautious:
    Talked to one person who finally told me they didn't know but would pass me over to the 'feel at home' team. They told me it wouldn't work in France!!:cry:
    Today I tried to create a My3 account but as it sends you a password I couldn't access it as it's a Hauwei device.:madder:
    Phoned again, passed to various people and finally to the tech team who said they couldn't give me a temporary password as it is 'confidential':rolleyes:
    But
    the guy went on to tell me that I do not need to have a 'feel at home' add on as the PAYG sim is pre-activated for 'feel at home' usage abroad.:sneaky:
    I'll find out tomorrow when we get there!!
    (I hope my phone bill doesn't explode with all these call to India!;))
     
  2. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,490
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Ratings:
    +20,321
    I just put mine in the dongle and it worked. I think you have to activate it in the UK before you leave though.
     
  3. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9,353
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +20,470
    Mine worked in France a couple of weeks ago, just switched on the mi fi , no problem (y)
     
  4. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6,020
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +12,348
    I thought most 3 sims required 30 days after activation before you can use them abroad.
     
  5. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,490
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Ratings:
    +20,321
    Mine had all of 3 days.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. Viennese

    Viennese Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,686
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +3,950
    I got a mifi from 3 last week and took out a contract £5 per month. I also transferred my phone contract from vodafone to 3 at the same time. If you don't have a contract the advice is apparently to get a 3 PAYG sim and then get an add-on!
     
  7. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6,020
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +12,348
    Obviously not all 3 sims are the same Dave .... I took out a new contract with 3 just before travelling in 2012 expecting it to work abroad only to find they would not allow roaming for 30 days.
    I have also recently set up a payg 3 sim with the same condition.
     
  8. TheCaller

    TheCaller Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,180
    Location:
    Lincs
    Ratings:
    +3,308
    If I remember it correctly, contract SIMs require 30 days, but PAYG SIMs can be used abroad immediately.

    No idea why - probably some sort of anti-fraud precaution.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. DocHoliday

    DocHoliday

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Ratings:
    +48
    I'm sure I read somewhere that's only the case for contract sims. For PAYG you can use them straight away (presumably after having first activated them in the UK).

    EDIT: TheCaller beat me to it :)
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,490
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Ratings:
    +20,321
    The reason I took out the PAYG 3 wifi sim was that I could top up when I needed it whilst ravelling. My home wifi is perfectly adequate when am not. Although I have a 3 sim only contract for my phone, I do not have any internet on it, as I only use my phone for what it was intended. I used my 3 phone many times in France to call the UK, and as I pay just over £6 per month for calls, it worked out very cheap for me.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  11. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,693
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    Ratings:
    +6,547
    Yipee I can add to this on the 3rd September when we cross the channel as I have a PAYG sim in my mifi that I have been using for over 30 days and a sim not as yet used that lasts for 90 days. The 3 shop says no need to buy add ons as these are for phones, but do they really know what they are talking about, we can only rely on experience from other members so keep posting
     
  12. Dogeared

    Dogeared Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    Blackburn
    Ratings:
    +384
    Does anyone know if the three pre-loaded sims are any good
    According to Three, you can get 3gb preloaded for £20.00 which costs same to use in France as UK
     
Loading...

Share This Page