Mifi help please

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Smith and Sharp, Jan 9, 2018.

  1. Smith and Sharp

    Smith and Sharp Funster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2,734
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +8,777
    I have a new Vodafone contract data sim which I put in a new HUAWEI mifi all is ok and it works fine through the HUAWEI app on the iPad and is what I am on now.
    Now I’ve downloaded the Vodafone mifi app on the iPad so I can see my account information on but I can’t get it to work as it comes up with stuff about Lan domain and I have no idea what to put in there, is there anyone that can help please maybe @Gromett ...?
    This is what comes up....

    22063264-687E-474B-B5BC-BC533124BB15.png
     
  2. emjaiuk

    emjaiuk Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Ratings:
    +308
    Don't use Vodafone so can't help with specifics, but it looks to me as if the iPad is connected to an alternative internet source. Have you checked in settings/wifi to make sure it's connected to the Huawei? If it is, if you explore the Huawei app, there's an awful lot of info available, you may find the information the Voda app wants there.

    Malcolm
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +490
    The 'Vodafone MiFi' app is only for use with Vodafone branded MiFi devices - hence why it is looking for vodafonemobile.wifi local domain. You could try and supplement the 'LAN domain' with the one for your Huawei device, which will be either 192.168.8.1 or 192.168.1.1 depending on the age of the device but expect it won't work (I've never tried).

    It is to all intents and purposes the same as the Huawei HiLink app, however. The regular Vodafone app may work through the Huawei connection for the purposes of monitoring your account/billing but you may need to 'log on' to your Vodafone account through a web browser.

    Hope that helps.
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Smith and Sharp

    Smith and Sharp Funster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2,734
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +8,777
    Above didn’t work... thanks for your help..
     
  5. Riverbankannie

    Riverbankannie Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2,415
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +3,817
    deleted, should have read first post properly!
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. Kev and Carolyn

    Kev and Carolyn Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Haughton Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +190
    Have you looked at this at all?

    Vodafone Mobile Wi-Fi Router
    https://www.vodafone.com/.../Vodafone-Mobile-Wi-Fi-Web-App-User-Guide.pdf
    LAN domain – This will be set to 'vodafonemobile.wifi' when you first set up your Vodafone. Mobile Wi-Fi Router, but you can change it if you wish. IP Address – The Internet Protocol address that identifies your Router on the local Wi-Fi network that it creates for you. You would not normally need to change your Router's IP.

    Kev
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Smith and Sharp

    Smith and Sharp Funster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2,734
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +8,777
    Yes, but I’ve got to get into the app to change it....
     
  8. Kev and Carolyn

    Kev and Carolyn Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Haughton Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +190
    Ok ...when you search for your mifi ..can i ask what comes up on your screen? As Addie stated the App is normally biased to Vodafone products. If... when you look for wifi connections your Huawei mifi shows up and not Vodafone, you then have to configure your Huawei mifi to see the card you are using. It sounds as if the hardware you are using may be the issue?
    By that it need to be told to see a Vodaphone Data card you intend to use.
    Again..As EM as stated too, you possibly need to search the software for the Huawei and configure the settings on your phone/pad to suit
     
  9. jumar

    jumar Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +1,931
    I check my Vodafone account with the SIM in my unlocked phone....cannot get my usage/account details through my MiFi......
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
Loading...

Share This Page