Jun 14, 2018
Kent
Funster No
MH
Bailey Autograph 79/6
Exp
Newbies
Afternoon all
Wondering what everyone uses as mice deterrent during the winter?
Not bothered before but this year she will be in storage and think better safe than sorry.
The more humane the better.
Thank you šŸ™

kevenh

Free Member
Jun 1, 2019
Thatcham
Funster No
MH
Compass C-Class
Exp
I'm a Progressing Newbie
Quick answer: Remove all items that would interest a mouse.
So a deep clean - inc. lockers.

But I don't know if a mouse would make a home in a motor home just because it was warm & dry.
If they do my idea isn't a cure all.

edit: & I'm assuming they'd just eat items of food. Maybe natural materials like cotton & wood are on their menu.
Sorry. It's a bigger topic than my "Mouse 101" knowledge.

sedge

Funster
Jul 7, 2009
Nr Jct 3 M6
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Aug 09 to date 9,000 miles!
No they eat plastic so electrical wiring and foam, as well as the covering of the foam, ie your upholstery, anything they can make a nice warm comfy nest with. And of course, piss and shit as they go.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
peppermint oil works well or some of the strong smelling chemicals like zoflora with ammonia in. It confuses their nose as it could be rat urine. The two rodents won't naturally co-exist. Better still keep them out of any access risk areas

Oct 30, 2010
Suffolk or France or ........
Funster No
MH
A Class Carthago Chic
Exp
Since 2008
The little beasts got into our last car while is was parked in the garage for several weeks. We were away in the van at the time.
No food or anything interesting for mice you would have thought.
Little sods chewed lumps out of the passenger seat and all round the gearstick gaiter.
We now put cotton wool pads with a few drops of peppermint oil around the car and van.

Richard

Aug 4, 2019
North East Riviera
Funster No
MH
Low profile
Exp