Free Member
Sep 26, 2018
new forest
Funster No
MH
Sold it!
Exp
I'm a newbie
Its been a while since I switched back to a caravan and I did promise you lot I would let you know the outcome. Apart from the disastrous maiden trip when I lost an argument with a very sturdy gate post things on the whole have gone very well. I've found there are many pluses and minuses when it comes to towing. A lot of negatives soon came back to me, especially the farting around before you set off and when you get there. The travelling bit in between depends to some extent on the year of your outfit and how far you go. I had a 2007 Elnagh which was easy to drive, had a well presented interior with a layout exactly what we wanted but it was under powered and very very noisy. Sound proofing helped a bit but I still had to shout at my wife, but she's used to that anyway. So I ended up with a very nice little two berth Luna which tows like a dream and its so quiet, no doubt the rattles or bangs are still there but you can't hear them. Of course setting up a base camp and using the car for shopping and visiting places of interest is a big plus for us as we tend to use CLs that are off the beaten track. So to sum up the caravan although a pain in the backside in so many ways has won the day and will be staying with us for the foreseeable future. We are thinking of changing our tow-car for a campervan giving us the best of both worlds and it would allow me to post on this forum legitimately. Stay safe guys and watch out for those idiotic fastards on the road

Jun 10, 2010
Shrewsbury (sometimes)
Funster No
MH
N&B Clou Liner MAN
Exp
Imo it depends what kind of holiday you want.

Park for a week in UK and want to explore surrounding area = caravan

Touring in europe mostly moving on every couple of days or so = motorhome.

I'm making the geographic distinction because europe generally enables you park where you want to be whereas you generally have to compromise more on location in UK