List of items for trip abroad ? (1 Viewer)

JimboT

Free Member
Nov 6, 2013
Welwyn Garden City
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Is there a list anywhere of items you should take traveling abroad mainly France Italy and Germany.
High Viz vest when i took the car years ago.
Any tips advice driving on the wrong side of the road!
First trip looking like Montpellier end Feb
Thanks
Jim

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
hi vis yes...one for everyone on board and kept in the van...not in an outside locker as they MUST be worn before getting out on the roadside.

fire extinguisher.

not sure if spare bulbs are still compulsory, maybe not as some cant be changed roadside.

large note on windscreen or steering wheel stating 'DRIVE ON RIGHT'

so easy after an overnight stop to forget if the roads are quiet.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
First Aid kit and fire extinguisher:
The European Good Samaritan Law requires every driver to stop and provide assistance when an accident is encountered, providing it is safe to do so. This may require a first aid kit and fire extinguisher and it is advisable to have these items when driving in France.

heres a list of essentials but some maybe outdated...(breathalyser etc)

http://www.go-to-france.co.uk/pages/Driving.htm

Upvote 0

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
corkscrew
Credit card

spare glasses if you wear them
1 hi viz per person
warning triangle (2 in Spain)
spare bulb set
fire extinguisher
breathilyzer is still on the books, make your own mind up
speed stickers to the rear if you are over 3500kgs
GB sign
Headlight Light correctors
make sure your sat nav does NOT have speed cams or it will be confiscated

Upvote 0

Gunner29

Free Member
May 24, 2012
Plymouth
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp