Lesure batteries

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Hayleylulu, Dec 28, 2010.

  1. Hayleylulu

    Hayleylulu Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,391
    Location:
    Full timing in the van
    Ratings:
    +3,882
    Any one know where to get the cheapest 110 gel batteries from my hymer544 as a gel battery in now can i just put any other batteries in place of gel one
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2010
  2. Road Runner

    Road Runner

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,195
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +1,459
    Smudgers battery box:winky::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
     
  3. lookback

    lookback

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Mareham le fen, Lincs
    Ratings:
    +25
    sorry, the joke is lost on me!!!:Sad:


    Ian
     
  4. Douglas

    Douglas

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    South Wales,
    Ratings:
    +402
    Ask JJ, he was into batteries at Shepton and knows the dealer.

    Doug...
     
  5. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,059
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +2,420
    You do not have to replace them with Gel batteries. However, you may find that standard wet lead acid batteries are too tall for the battery location. I'm not sure where it is / they are in a B544, but ours are in a tray recessed into the floor under the settee. Height is limited and I chose 110Ah Elecsol batteries as they were pretty much the same size as the original 80Ah Exide Gels. Not cheap, but a lot less than two new Gels.

    If you switch type, remember to change the selector switch on the Schaudt Elecktroblok from Blei Gel (lead-gel) to Blei Saüre (lead-acid).

    Philip
     
  6. Sundowners

    Sundowners Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,451
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +1,682
    You can fit any type of 'leisure ' battery--------- they should all be the same though, if you have more than 1--------you MAY need to alter your onboard charger settings------someone else will know better than me about that !!
    Nigel
     
Loading...

Share This Page