LED bulb replacement proving an issue for 2004 Hymer Classic. (1 Viewer)

Barry72

Free Member
Jun 20, 2016
Perthshire
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
I'm a newbie
When we first arrived at our chosen spot one night I had more lights on than usual while getting organised, I noticed the current drain and was shocked how high it was so decided to switch the halogen bulbs to LED asap.
First set arrived and tried a couple, looked good for a few minutes then they started flashing slowly on and off before staying off but maybe come on for a few random seconds.
Bought another set, unlike the first ones which were round near the legs then flattened to a blunt point, the second set were the barrel type from a named brand and a slightly lower rating. Changed the same two by the main sky light and no issues so I changed the rest. Last night a mate and I were banished to the Hymer to watch the football so had the new led lights on, after an hour or two there was a pop or click by the light above the door and it went out. The unchanged bulb on the outside light off the same switch was still on. I felt the plastic cove and it was very slightly warm so I turned the switch off then back on again and the led bulb came back on but then started to smoke a little so I turned it off.
No idea why I am having such an issue, I checked the ratings in the Hymer manual then ordered the equivalent replacement in LED bulbs. Right now I'm putting the halogen bulbs back, not keen on making smoke signals with new bulbs.
Anyone else had similar problems? Is it a heat issue due to the size of the light fittings or am I ordering the wrong bulbs.

Cheers. Barry.

Badknee

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 25, 2014
notloB
Funster No
MH
Vantage Neo
Exp
Living the dream.