Latest news on eBike Regulations December 11th (1 Viewer)

ebikejohn

Free Member
Dec 11, 2015
Hereford
Funster No
MH
Low Profile
Exp
Since 2006
I must begin this post by reminding you that I sell eBikes for a living.

What I post below has arrived with me today, it was sent to me by one of the largest eBike companies in the UK, we sell one of their brands, I cannot include their name because I would be breaking forum rules and I know that this may well lead to some speculation/accusations by at least one other member out there but, like it or not, it is based on the very latest facts from somebody who was there, not on supposition, speculation or hype and not based on opinions from other forums, it will hopefully explode some of the myths and address some of the questions being posed by the new legislation.

EN15194 refers to legislation for eBikes used throughout Europe.

********* has been working hard all year to understand and clarify the latest regulations for electric bikes. The actual meaning of some of the wording has, to say the least, been rather woolly.

Two senior representatives of ************attended an Electric Bike Group (EBG) meeting of the BA last week in Coventry. The results and clarification from that meeting have now been released to members.

The main points are:-

Electric bikes with the “twist and go throttle” that have cleared customs Broken Link RemovedJanuary 2016 can still be sold. (Bikes in your showrooms and our warehouses).

Broken Link Removed new electric bikes with “twist and go” throttles or buttons can only go up to 6kph (4mph) without pedalling. The rider can be on the bike whilst using this device. The actuating throttle or button must have a return spring so that the default position is off.

For throttle use between 6kph (4mph) and 25kph (15.5mph) the rider must be pedalling.