laptop info please

Discussion in 'Computers' started by francour, Aug 5, 2013.

  1. francour

    francour

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi all just got new laptop how do I use it in camper in uk and abroad can I get tv on it sorry to sound thick but new to carrying lap top with us any info would help Thanks Bernie:thumb:
     
  2. ukbill

    ukbill Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    5,166
    Location:
    benidorm
    Ratings:
    +5,372
    for tv obviously you need a internet connection and use http://www.filmon.com/
    for your tv channels
    not sure what other info you need but let me know and will help if possible
     
  3. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +4,660
    you will need either EHU to recharge the battery or some means from 12v power source. to get tv you will need internet, that means local wifi, dongle or mifi unit.
     
  4. camocam1

    camocam1

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Elgin,Moray,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +783
    if you have an iphone you can set this up as a hotspot then when you connect the laptop it should find it.
     
  5. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,490
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Ratings:
    +20,340
    First and foremost you will need a 12 volt supply. Do not go down the inverter route. Its too wasteful of valuable power.
     
  6. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,633
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +34,256
  7. gasman2008

    gasman2008

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +99
    If you have an aerial you can get a freeview dongle to get freeview without the internet
     
  8. flatpackchicken

    flatpackchicken Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    988
    Location:
    BICESTER OXFORDSHIRE
    Ratings:
    +1,035
  9. gasman2008

    gasman2008

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +99
    not tried it, but it should pick up local digital stations
     
  10. motorhomer

    motorhomer Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    585
    Location:
    South Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +323
    Does filmon work with UK channels in Europe?

    And does it stay free?
     
  11. ukbill

    ukbill Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    5,166
    Location:
    benidorm
    Ratings:
    +5,372
    yes me and pete (knuckledragger) had filmon going in spain with no problem
     
Loading...

Share This Page