Just starting to buy the electrics....need a bit of help (1 Viewer)

TommyG87

Free Member
Feb 16, 2019
Funster No
MH
Converted Horsebox
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi.
Thanks in advance for any help, new to the forum. I am a total novice with electrics...Me and my wife have stripped a horse trailer out, and in the middle of installing electrics. Ideally we want to use leisure batteries as our main source of power, when theres no hook up supply. As a back up to the leisure batteries, a pure sine inverter generator.

I have installed a 32amp 3 pin plug, which will then go to a consumer unit. From the generator, a 32amp hook up cable. However for the leisure batteries, I will be connecting a pure sine inverter, which will plug into my 32amp socket, via a 32amp to 13amp plug adaptor hook up cable. All I am wanting to power is some led light bulbs, a pretty big fridge and some small led striplites.

The leisure batteries will be installed in Parallel, and are 130ah each, 12v. To charge them, will be via a plug in battery charger, and additionally may go down the solar route later on. The inverter size, I have been told different opinions, one from an auto electrician, and one from a seller of inverters. The auto electrician said a 1600w inverter. The seller said 2500w with a peak power of 5000w. I have attached a image of the sticker off the fridge. Due to initial start up surge, id be more certain the 2500w/5000w inverter would be correct. Im also thinking I may need an additional battery or 2.

The 2nd query, when connecting batteries in parallel, does the live cables between each battery, and to the inverter need fusing, or will the built in protection of an inverter, and the consumer unit be sufficient?

Final query, from the leisure batteries, the post taking the negative cable to the negative terminal of the inverter, does an additional negative cable need taking and bolting to the metal body of the trailer for ground?