Apr 17, 2017
Devon
Funster No
MH
Van Conversation
Exp
New
Hello all.
Going back to Spain after Christmas with new 6 month old puppy. I am quite new to motorhoming except for a 6 week tour earlier this year in my van conversion (without dog). I have no real reason to return to uk, maybe once a year to get the MOT. Does anyone have any advice?

Jan 27, 2014
mid wales
Funster No
MH
carthago chic i51.
Exp
Hi welcome to fun happy and safe travels
No advice just enjoy warmer climate.

OP
OP
MJL

MJL

Free Member
Apr 17, 2017
Devon
Funster No
MH
Van Conversation
Exp
New
Well..... channel tunnel, France, puppies, time away, almost everything really. Dog food abroad. Pet passport, rabies jab. You name it!

Jan 10, 2013
Near Uttoxeter and Crete
Funster No
MH
Warwick XL PVC
Exp
Still trucking and learning
Channel tunnel - best way to cross channel with a dog. 35 mins and you're in France, however...........
France: Northern France closed, cold and miserable in the winter.
Puppies: Make sure they are securely tethered/caged in van, feed lightly through the journey with the food they are used to, stop often, give them bottled water only.
Dog food abroad: Many of the major brands you see in the UK are available. Also Lidl stores are everywhere so if your puppy likes them you can easily get the pouches. Vets will also stock Royal Canin if that's what puppy is used to.
Pet Passport: To late to get it in UK before you leave just after Christmas, however you will easily be able to get it done at a large Spanish vets. Microchip and rabies jab are integral part of getting passport. You obviously must have one before you can return to UK ( not needed on outbound journey). You will also need to get tapeworm treatment for your dog just before returning to UK and this must be stamped in his passport.
This link might alleviate your worries:
https://www.spain-holiday.com/Spain/articles/travelling-with-pets-in-spain