Italy require covid test result (1 Viewer)

Feb 28, 2018
Funster No
Hi all, something of a newbie here and we're still new to this game, being only recently retired and having the time to travel. :)

Had a trip to Italy planned, to go to try to follow the Mille Miglia for a bit, passing through Germany on the way. Was hoping for some late sun in southern Italy.
This week Italy have announced that for travellers from UK they require a negative covid test result. Advice on Gov.uk reads:
Entry to Italy from the UK
A negative COVID-19 test result is required when you arrive in Italy from the UK.

The test needs to have been carried out in the 72 hours prior to your travel and should be a molecular (PCR) or an antigenic test. You’ll be asked to show proof of your test date and result at the border.

You should not use the NHS testing service to get a test in order to facilitate your travel to another country. You should arrange to take a private test.

Alternatively, you can take a free COVID-19 test at the airport when you arrive in Italy. You will have to self-isolate at your hotel or accommodation until you get the results back from your test.

At some airports, fast testing is available, and you will be able to get your results within an hour. At these airports, you usually won’t be allowed to leave until your results are available. Check the website of the airport you are flying to for more information on their process and operating times.

Remember that if you test positive, you will be quarantined until two consecutive negative tests have been recorded. The time spent in quarantine can vary greatly from a few days to several weeks. Travellers should be prepared for this eventuality. <<

Wondering what to do about this. Haven't seen much in the media about this at all. We have the Eurotunnel booked for Tuesday. Wondering what kind of checks are being done at borders. Shall we go to Spain instead?