Isle de Re or Isle d'Oleron? (1 Viewer)

Jun 28, 2015
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I'm a newbie
We are off on Sunday for a month. Our first few nights will be spent in Belgium, before seeing some friends in Germany for a couple of days. After that, the rest of our trip will be spent in France working our way down to Lyon, then Parc Verger, staying at aires or France passion sites in between. One we leave PV, we have 9 days before our crossing back is booked. We'd like to spend 7 of them on one of the islands, but are not sure which one to choose. Can any of you let us know which you preferred & why please? We are happy going for long walks with Tilly, cycling and wandering around markets etc and would prefer to be near the sea.
Looking forward to hearing you'd experience's, many thanks.

Anthea M

Free Member
Deceased RIP
Oct 18, 2015
Sheffield
Funster No
MH
Hobby
Exp
Since 2009
We loved both islands , isle de re is prettier and was full of parisenes when we went in school holidays but plenty of safe cycle tracks.
The isle d 'Ron is bigger and again has many cycle tracks and huge areas of salt producing lakes. We like the fact you can cycle to Fort Boyard and catch the ferry to La Rochelle for the day!
Sorry not much help!!!
Enjoy your trip !!

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
I'll de re. (y) would be my first choice. As Anthea says, small, prettier and more a tourist attraction for a first visit. We went to St martin and from there we could get to anywhere on the island by bike and we are by no means active cyclists.!!
I'll de Oleron is also worth a visit but don't rush it, save that for next time.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Mr Chrysalis

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 8, 2016
Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Rapido 890F A Class
Exp
Since 2016, caravans before that, folding Caravan, tents before that