Is waxoil underseal a good idea? (1 Viewer)

Jan 5, 2017
brinklow warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Romahome duo hylo
Exp
since 2016
I have just bought a 2005 Romahome its in good condition and I want to keep it for the long term. Firstly is it s good idea to get it wax oiled? And if so, how do I find a reputable firm to carry out the work? My own trusted garage don't do this and couldn't reccomend anyone to me .

OP
OP
patricia the newbie
Jan 5, 2017
brinklow warwickshire
Funster No
MH
Romahome duo hylo
Exp
since 2016
Like what? Please bear in mind I'm new to this, so where would I find out all the options? And who to use? I'm sorry to be asking all these questions .

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jan 24, 2010
Funster No
MH
Adria Twin
Exp
Since 2007
my own personal view is no on anything that can not be guaranteed to be moisture free where the waxoil is to be applied as it will seal the moisture in which is not a good thing to do!!

I have done the underside of our van with a roof seal that is flexible and breathable, stops moisture getting in and allows anything that was in there to evaporate out, been on there for about 4years and its still doing its job very well. And it can be done without any special gear, just a paintbrush and a roller

for the nooks and crannies of the chassis ive not done anything yet, van is 10yrs old and has a good inspection each year and no issues so far

Jun 30, 2011
Barnard Castle, UK
Funster No
MH
Concorde Concerto
Exp
Since 2007
my own personal view is no on anything that can not be guaranteed to be moisture free where the waxoil is to be applied as it will seal the moisture in which is not a good thing to do!!

I have done the underside of our van with a roof seal that is flexible and breathable, stops moisture getting in and allows anything that was in there to evaporate out, been on there for about 4years and its still doing its job very well. And it can be done without any special gear, just a paintbrush and a roller