Internet Explorer 9

Discussion in 'Computers' started by scotjimland, Sep 16, 2010.

  1. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,094
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,349
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    28,617
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +34,209
    Does any software ?

    I don't think so.

    It's the gobsmacking ones that just appear that I love - Google Earth then Google Streets. Full on "jesus how did I live without this" programs.

    30 years ago it was Turbo Pascal. Then Delphi.
     
  3. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,552
    Haven't even installed v8 on the XP machines yet :Smile:

    Graham
     
  4. Wildman

    Wildman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Ratings:
    +8,647
    V8 caused no end of problems I had to revert to 7, v7 is stable why change it, what's new in V9?
     
  5. bigmillie

    bigmillie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Camberley Surrey
    Ratings:
    +136
    Tells me that it wont run with XP need to get a more upto date version of windows :Eeek:
     
  6. Wildman

    Wildman

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Ratings:
    +8,647
    of course a vista upgrade, ah well can forget that then.
     
  7. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,343
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Ratings:
    +38,552
    IE8 running on Vista caused major problems with our data CDs through lack of testing by Microsoft - which it took them months to admit. As a result I run IE8 on the Vista machine just in case the error gets re-introduced through an update. I've stayed with IE7 on the XP machines though - I've never identified any glaring lack of "must have" features.

    Graham
     
  8. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Ratings:
    +1,809
    Hmmmmm.



    Mozilla Firefox
     
  9. American Dream

    American Dream

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +155
    Been running IE8 on all home and work pcs now for some time.The amount of customer machines I remote on to that are still using ie6...Causing a few errors now with web browsing.

    No problems seen so far.Win xp and Win 7 pc'S.IE8 Worked fine with 32 bit Vista but I decided to go 64bit and really utilise the processors.For those that do...windows xp mode is great for retro software and virtual machine for other os's.

    I have learnt to pre test these beta releases first. On a virtual "test" machine before deploying them.

    Bought Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit and works a treat £72.

    Testing Office 2010 Full Release Home Users £8.95.A bargain for legit software.:thumb:

    I always use Cometbird for quick browsing.
     
  10. ticktok

    ticktok

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Kent (South Coast)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dont bother, get Firefox:thumb:
     
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    29,094
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +28,349
    better still ..

    buy a Mac :thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page