Jul 30, 2017
Thaxted, Essex.
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion.
Exp
30 years of weekends away motor racing.
Morning all,
With the main build of the Land Rover Defender nearly finished it is time to start planning the interior, firstly I need to sort insulation.
My ideal would be to fit insulation directly to the vehicle inner panels then carpet over, but we are not sure which insulation would be best to stop condensation.
Any help would be much appreciated.

2017-12-13 06.38.18.jpg

neil2016

Free Member
Aug 19, 2016
Chalfont st Peter
Funster No
MH
Hymer B544
Exp
I'm a newbie
The video below explains the thermal benefits of a solid board type of insulation over the fibre type. The video has been made by a guy who is in the process of converting a Mercedes Sprinter Van.

Jan 8, 2013
Dronfield - Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Burstner Lyseo 690G
Exp
Happy FLT since 2011
Spray foam is by far the best- IMHO It fills all the gaps and leaves no cold surfaces that can promote condensation.
This one was a bit bigger job than a Landrover

DSCF2016.JPG

Jan 17, 2014
Wellington, Telford, Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
Since 1977
I have often pondered the various positives and negatives of various types of insulation to use in a camper.

Spray Foam

Thoughts...
  • Can be installed to cover 99% of outer surfaces.
  • How well does it stick to the metal surfaces? I wonder about this because I remember early foam car under-seal which in time allowed damp to creep against the metal and rot it away!
  • Will it part from the metal in time and allow wet to invade the gap by capillary action causing corrosion of metal surfaces?
  • What problems arise if accident damage has to be repaired to the panels?
  • I assume the gasses given off if it burns are highly toxic!
Man made fibre wadding / sheets.

Thoughts...
  • Using propriety insulation fibre it is easy to install but does not fill all gaps however well installed.