Free Member
Sep 13, 2016
Dorset
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I'm a newbie
As I understand it the beading around the van is to hide the scews and make it tidy or does it serve another purpose? Mine is quite discoloured in places and also loose in places does it just snap in ? Or is it glued in?is this easily cleaned or easily changed and widely available and what sort of cost? I know I know question after question, just trying to get motorhome educated!
All advice welcome.
Thanks Dave

May 8, 2016
silver coast, portugal
Funster No
MH
C Class: Low profile
Exp
Boatie for 20 years
Mostly decorative from what I can see
A picture of the seals you are referring to would help, also the make of the van. Unless you are referring to this type of seal?

_75856076_harbour_seal-spl.jpg

OP
OP
D

Dave the builder

Free Member
Sep 13, 2016
Dorset
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
I'm a newbie
SeA new life 48 it's the rubber type seals that sits in the channels all around the van don't know how to upload pictures. Sorry.

ambulancekidd

Funster
Sep 23, 2014
Ayrshire Scotland
Funster No
MH
Swift Kon-Tiki 640
Exp
Since 1964 Gosh that makes me feel old.
Not all of the beading is just decorative. As you've said the beading is there to cover some seams & screws. If the metal is loose over a joint, it'll need to be sealed with a non setting mastic. The beading is quite difficult to bend properly if it curves anywhere. There is usually an insert which is plastic & widely available. If the insert is coloured it really brightens the vehicle up once replaced.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

ambulancekidd

Funster
Sep 23, 2014
Ayrshire Scotland
Funster No
MH
Swift Kon-Tiki 640
Exp
Since 1964 Gosh that makes me feel old.
SeA new life 48 it's the rubber type seals that sits in the channels all around the van don't know how to upload pictures. Sorry.