Free Member
Aug 28, 2011
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello everyone. Not sure whether this is the right place to start this thread but here goes: We've been looking at vans for the past couple of months and have finally settled on the fact that we fancy a Hymer. Rejected the Hymer 46 after having a couple of looks and decided we want something a bit more roomy inside. We have found a Hymer B544 2.5 peugot diesel 1991 H reg 106000 miles on the clock. It's quite a journey from where we live to view it so we've asked for lots of pics and asked lots of questions. We've had so many bad experiences of travelling miles for vans in 'fantastic condition' only to find a heap of rubbish at the other end! This van looks very tidy from the pics and the seller has been very helpful. We are new to this and just wonder if anyone can give some advice about what to look out for. we've been told to look out for damp and cracks in seals etc. Should we be concerned about the mileage. Eventually after trying out here we would like to go to France & Spain. Another concern is spares, whether there might be a problem finding spares for a 20 year old van. Or are we being too ambitious thinking of taking an old van like that on a long trip? Would be v grateful for any help, advice or tips. Thanks

Apr 21, 2009
East Cowes, PO32 6RU
Funster No
MH
Caravan
Exp
Caravan since 1970, motorhome or RV since 1999 then back to a caravan in 2017.