Free Member
Oct 11, 2017
Cornwall
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
Since 2016
I've mostly finished the wiring for the camper today, just need to wire up the water pump and a couple more lights.

Whats everybody's thoughts on this setup? I'm no electrician but I'm sure the majority is just common sense...

I've run 10mm2 cable from the solar panels/controller/between batteries. All other cable is 6mm2 apart from the lighting which is really thin speaker cable stuff. There is a breaker from the battery to the fuse board which is rated 32v/30amp (this came from a previous build that I bought part built)

Im not sure if I need to add a couple of inline fuses on the main power cable? I'd also like to add a main switch for when we're out for the day and maybe another switch to turn off the solar setup.

IMG_20171105_160847.jpg

Jan 19, 2014
Derbyshire
Funster No
MH
Elddis Accordo 105
Exp
since 2014
Looks OK to me. Perhaps the odd cable tie wouldn't go amiss but it will work the same without (y)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

SuperMike

Free Member
Apr 28, 2010
St Albans
Funster No
MH
Winnebago Sightseer
Exp
11yrs, but many years a tugger.
I’m sure it works, but my first impression is it is a bit of a birds nest. Like that it is easy to damage, there are lots of unsupported connections, and it’s all subject to vehicle vibrations. Neat and tidy and run in conduit or personally, I’m old fashioned, and would have laced it all. But then, I’m partial to a bit of lacing, it’s a dieing art. :whistle: :sneaky: :)

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
if you had taken your time and run the cables neatly and supported, it would save space and problems later on. looks like a real fire hazard without the batteries being fused near the terminals

Sep 16, 2013
Horncastle, UK
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2006
What distance in length is between the leisure batteries and your starter battery?