How To Tow A Scooter, And What To Buy? (1 Viewer)

Julie And Rod

Free Member
Oct 19, 2014
Lichfield
Funster No
MH
Coach built
Exp
I'm a Newbie
As relative newbies (we bought our 1st MH 10 months ago) I have always managed to get sensible answers, from you all, based on years of experience, rather than theory. So I would once again like to pick your brains. We have a small (5.5m) Eldiss Firestorm 400, on a Peugeot Boxer base. We have found that once parked up we don't like to move, and would like to take a scooter with us, for short journeys to local attractions.
1. What would be the best way to transport one?
We have seen 'Dollies, trailers etc, however we have a small box on the back of the van, and a trailer would have to clear this
2. Has anyone used a doggy box on a scooter? Our small dog goes everywhere with us and we have seen a dog box which fits on the back of a scooter
3. Can anyone recommend a cheap is scooter suitable for taking 2 of us plus said doggy?

RandallC

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 4, 2012
Devizes
Funster No
MH
A Class Rapido 8096
Exp
2012, prior too, 17 years Folding Camper & Caravan
Hi, can't help with the trailer but am interested in the doggy box, could you let me know what box you have seen please. Interested in any news on solving this one as we too have a small friend that could do with a lift.

Cheers

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Dolly's are technically a no-no because the wheel on the road has a brake and that brake must work when the van brakes are used.......and there is no simple method of doing that.

A regular bike trailer is the easiest and safest option....but you have to find space for it on your pitch when not in use.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Reactions: f6c

Vic

Aug 1, 2010
Funster No
Motolug do a nice trailer that can be easily dismantled and stored under the van when not in use.
Re your dog, what breed/size/weight is it? I may have an answer.
Vic

OP
OP