How to get the best cup of coffee (1 Viewer)

electrajohnt

Free Member
Oct 27, 2013
Stoke on Trent
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I am a newbie
Torn I am, Currently using the continental style aluminium perculator, the one every self respecting French, Spanish and Italian uses, it's ok but....

Chap at work lent me an espresso type machine, this worked ok but I still cannot get that really good cup you get in restaurants here and abroad.

Been looking at Tassimo thingy's that you buy sachets for, not convinced this is the answer.

Anyone got any good suggestions other than drink tea, beer, wine or just shut up instead.

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
We use a Gaggia Cubika at home and a Sensio in the van. I like my coffee strong and have found the pods from Mercadona Hacendado Intenso suit my taste best.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

ourcampersbeentrashed

Free Member
Apr 19, 2008
East London
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
well over 5 years
Its not the coffee maker, it the beans that make the difference

By a cheap grinder, try the various beans, grind them yourself and use a bodum or similar. Expensive machines dont make good tasting coffee its the beans themselves

Deleted User
I have had a Gaggia Baby for about ten years and recently bought a cheap espresso machine(€40) in Portugal both work well but I doubt the cheap one will last ten years.
For me it is important to grind the beans fresh each time and use a good grinder though i have had good results from a blade type grinder but it takes time to get the grains fine enough for espresso and the all important crema.