How safe are campsites/aires in Spain? (1 Viewer)

Originalsmoothie

Free Member
Jun 15, 2016
Southam
Funster No
MH
Hymer B754
Exp
I'm a newbie
We are parked in the delightful town of Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val on day three of our four day stay in this wonderful medieval town. Tomorrow afternoon we will continue south, heading for Madrid and our appointment with the US Consulate on 15th November.

This year we have had a wonderful time on a whistle-stop tour of France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Germany and Denmark, four lazy weeks exploring the Netherlands recently and now we're on our way down to the south of Spain, hopefully for the winter.

My wife, Cynthia, has read quite a few negative comments about crime in Spain, especially where motorhomes are concerned. We have both felt completely safe on our travels so far in Europe. In fact, in the Netherlands we wild camped most nights. We have never had the slightest hint of a problem.

What is the reality in Spain, and how crowded are we likely to find the south coast? A very high number of the motorhome owners we have spoke to have told us that they're heading that way. Has the south of Spain become impossibly crowded, and is it safe to stay there?

I look forward to your response.

Paul

The Nomad

Free Member
Aug 24, 2016
Wandering in Europe
Funster No
MH
Overcab
Exp
Many years
The reality is: much much safer than in the UK.
I know that's not the perception, because one or two examples of MH crime have happened to Brits whilst here in Spain.....and of course they get repeated/amplified.

But Spain is MUCH safer than the UK.
By any measure of any sort of crime stats, crime here is much much less.

There are literally hundreds of thousands of motorhomers living in/travelling around/travelling to Spain every year.